Risky Business

It’s interesting to hear different people’s perception of what a recruiter does. I was having dinner with friends a few years ago and the topic came up in conversation.  I can’t remember what premised me explaining how I go out and source for candidates.  My friend looked at me very confused and said, “You mean you actually look for people?  I thought you just posted a job on a few websites and then waited for someone to apply”.   I then went on to explain my process afteInspectorr receiving a req (requisition).  Yes, I actually do have to go out and look for candidates for my jobs…most of them anyway. Some jobs, like back in the day (and I’m dating myself here- about 20 years ago), I am able to just post and fill with actual applicants.  Those are most likely entry level or common roles but for the most part, I have very niche jobs that require me targeting our competition and utilizing the passive candidate database I’ve built over the years.

So where do I look? Well, we already know how much I love LinkedIn.  That’s my number one.  And then I often will search portfolio sites (Behance or Coroflot) and some sales data sites such as Data.com Connect or Spoke.com for leads, which I then usually follow up on LinkedIn.  I know, LinkedIn, I said it again. I’ll also do Boolean searches on variosocial media graphicus search engines to get the best reach.  Different search engines index different data so utilizing more than one ups your chances of finding valuable information. I’ll also use various Boolean search techniques like XRay or FlipSearch to target specific social media sites. I am actually an AIRS certified Social Sourcing Recruiter (CSSR) and have learned some neat techniques to find those squirrels. No, that doesn’t mean I am certified to recruit social people.  It means I took an AIRS social Sourcing recruiter course and then passed the certification test.

Hand Like Image

Sourcing through social media is absolutely necessary this day in age. If you are not where your candidates are, your competition most likely is and will scoop them up before your very eyes. You run the risk of losing valuable talent if you don’t.  Then again, social media recruiting also has some risks. This topic came up in one of our weekly discussions at school.  Some companies actually go so far as to require applicants to submit their social media passwords so they can run their own little background checks.  Who the hell has the time to dig that deep, first of all?  In the industry I am in, I work with mostly creative people, designers, etc., and I can only imagine what I would find on their social media pages.  In any case, I read that a number of states have started the process of banning this practice.  When a potential employer starts looking into an applicant’s personal life that deep, they run the risk of learning information about that person that they really shouldn’t know at that stage of the game. For example, their race, their religious beliefs, are they pregnant, etc.?  Now you’re not only being incredibly nosy, you’re truly running the risk of a discrimination lawsuit (Guerin, n.d.).  Also, and I am making an assumption here as I have not thoroughly researched this topic, I would imagine you would have to somehow prove that you researched EVERY applicant’s social media pages for EEO purposes.  In any case, there are risks to both but social media is here to stay so I’ll continue my hunt there.

social media flowers

 

 

Guerin, L., JD. (n.d.). Can Potential Employers Check Your Facebook Page? | Nolo.com. Retrieved June 25, 2016, from http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/can-potential-employers-check-your-facebook-page.html

 

Leave a Reply

